Diving In

DivingIn_cover

So. Big changes for this 24-year-old. I just finished my last week as a producer at MediaStyle. Ian hired me right after finishing my undergrad, and I’ve been working with him and our evolving team for almost 3 years. It was the first time I had a desk and computer, business cards and a phone extension. But it was also the first place I got to put my skills in practice. From the first video I produced to the last, I can’t believe how much I learnt. Having the space and support to try new things, I definitely feel like I’m leaving with a suitcase filled with knowledge.

A few months ago, I decided to take the plunge and commit to my creative projects. With the support of my family, friends and co-workers, I am ready to start a new chapter in my life. But it wouldn’t be right to start before taking in an adventure! My lovely friend Melissa and I are departing next week for a cross-Canada roadtrip. I will be joining her on her trip out west, where she will be staying for the next little while. I then fly back to Ottawa, refreshed and inspired, ready to create. Filmmaking has been my passion for years now, and I can’t wait to dive back in. I have a few ideas kicking around in my head, fiction and not. I’m also looking forward to collaborating with some friends on projects I really believe in.

It wasn’t an easy decision to make, and I admit I’m scared at times. But in the end, I know having the time to focus on these projects will make me happy. And I can’t thank you all enough. The support and confidence you’ve given me through the last few months has been overwhelmingly wonderful.

So stay tuned, I’ll be documenting the trip, getting ready for the real deal.

4 thoughts on “Diving In

  1. Bravo Gaby! Effectivement belle expérience à Media Style qui va te servir pour la prochaine étape. Bonne route et bonne chance pour la suite….Mario

Leave a Reply

