Hyphen in Gatineau

I have been busy planning the production of my newest film project: Hyphen, a documentary about cultural identity within multiracial families in Canada. Yesterday was a pretty important day: it was my very first shooting day!

My goal for this documentary is to create a collection of short stories featuring multiracial individuals; one of those individuals is me. I thought it was necessary for me to go through the interviewing and filming process before I could start including other stories. My close and talented friend Travis Boisvenue has kindly accepted to film my section of the documentary, as I didn’t think using a selfie stick would have quite the same impact. So I brought him to my hometown of Gatineau for the day. We visited my childhood home where my mother still lives, and we cooked a delicious curry together.

Then we ventured around my neighbourhood, visiting my elementary school and local hang out spots.

We also drove through downtown Gatineau and ended up at my high school in Hull.

We ended the day in my current apartment in Chinatown, to have coffee with my roommate.

It was definitely a strange day. I was thrilled to finally see my project become a reality, but being in front of the camera all day was something I wasn’t so comfortable with. It really made me realize how vulnerable you are in these situations, and I hope to make my subjects feel at ease, like Travis was able to do for my mother and I.

 It was also a strange feeling to visit places I hadn’t seen in years, bringing back the good and bad memories from those times in my life. But that’s exactly what I’m looking for from this project. So I’m keeping the momentum of yesterday and planning to start my interview. I am only recording the audio from the interviews, to have more space to be creative with the visuals. I’m looking forward to what will come from my first interview: a conversation between my mother and I.

I plan to keep updating you all on the process I take for this documentary, as I want this project to be open and flexible. Feel free to give me any feedback or thoughts you may have, I’d love to hear your ideas!

Leave a Reply

