He Wore Birkenstocks, She Had Feathers in her Hair

A few weeks ago, my half brother got married, and I had the opportunity to be the photographer during the ceremony. The intimate ceremony was held on the grounds where his wife grew up, and the mountains and sun were the perfect backdrop for their special day. And what a beautiful day it was! The 26 guests sat, basking in the sun as the couple shared their vows. Each person had a special role to play in the ceremony, making the day even more intimate and unique. I wanted to capture the simplicity of the celebration, keeping the shots candid and focusing on the details, as they were what made this wedding unforgettable.

I was thrilled to show them the finished product, as it was my first attempt at shooting a wedding. It was a process I wasn’t familiar with. When I edit videos, I start with a lot of footage, cut it down to the best takes and move the shots around a timeline to create a story. In this case, I started with a story, and had to choose the best moments that captured it; and there was no shortage of material! Going through it, shot by shot was the bulk of the work. But making sure each image looked as good as the last was almost as challenging. I decided to keep the post-production minimal, as the light and colours that day were spectacular. However, the sun created harsh shadows through some of the photos which needed to be lightened. I ran into a few obstacles, but in the end, I was very happy with the photos. Here is small selection, hoping to capture the magical essence of that day. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment